Which players have won the Premier League Golden Boot? Who has won the most?

2 min read
thierry-henry-arsenal-trophy-getty-ftr Getty Images

The Premier League officially kicked off in 1992, taking over as the top division in England.

In the 30 years since, some of the biggest names of world football have plied their trade in the Premier League, including some of the most prolific attackers in history. Players like Thierry Henry, Didier Drogba, Alan Shearer and Mohamed Salah have terrorised opposing defences during their respective time in the league, but who has won the most Golden Boots? And which player holds the record for most goals in a single Premier League season?

DAZN answers those questions below:

Who has won the most Premier League Gold Boot awards?

It may come as little surprise to fans who watched the Premier League in the early 2000s, but Thierry Henry holds the record for most Golden Boots with four.

Henry was the league's top goal scorer in 2001-02, 2003-04, 2004-05 and 2005-06, all while donning the red and white Arsenal kit. The French star helped the Gunners win the Premier League title twice during those four seasons (01-02 and 03-04).

Who holds the single-season Premier League goal scoring record?

Andy Cole and Alan Shearer scored 34 goals in back-to-back campaigns (1993-94 and 1994-95, respectively), which remains as the single-season Premier League goal scoring record.

However, Cole and Shearer benefitted from playing in a 42-game season, which was the standard for the Premier League until the 1995-96 campaign in which the current 38-game fixture list became standard.

Liverpool ace Mohamed Salah holds the record for a 38-game season, having scored 32 times during the 2017-18 campaign to claim his first of three Golden Boot awards.

By goal scoring rate, Harry Kane's 0.97 goals per game in 2016-17 is the standard bearer. Kane achieved the rate by scoring 29 goals over 30 games that season.

Premier League Golden Boot winners by year

1992-93 - Terry Sheringham (Tottenham), 22 goals

1993-94 - Andy Cole (Newcastle United), 34 goals

1994-95 - Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers), 34 goals

1995-96 - Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers), 31 goals

1996-97 - Alan Shearer (Newcastle United), 25 goals

1997-98 - Chris Sutton (Blackburn Rovers), Dion Dublen (Coventry City), Michael Owen (Liverpool), 18 goals

1998-99 - Michael Owen (Liverpool), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United), Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Leeds United), 18 goals

1999-00 - Kevin Phillips (Sunderland), 30 goals

2000-01 - Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Chelsea), 23 goals

2001-02 - Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 24 goals

2002-03 - Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United), 25 goals

2003-04 - Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 30 goals

2004-05 - Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 25 goals

2005-06 - Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 27 goals

2006-07 - Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 20 goals

2007-08 - Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), 31 goals

2008-09 - Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), 19 goals

2009-10 - Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 29 goals

2010-11 - Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Dimitar Berbatov (Manchester United), 20 goals

2011-12 - Robin van Persie (Arsenal), 30 goals

2012-13 - Robin van Persie (Manchester United), 26 goals

2013-14 - Luis Suarez (Liverpool), 31 goals

2014-15 - Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), 26 goals

2015-16 - Harry Kane (Tottenham), 25 goals

2016-17 - Harry Kane (Tottenham), 29 goals

2017-18 - Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 32 goals

2018-19 - Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal), Sadio Mané (Liverpool), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 22 goals

2019-20 - Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), 23 goals

2020-21 - Harry Kane (Tottenham), 23 goals

2021-22 - Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Son Heung-min (Tottenham), 23 goals


Latest News