DAZN News

Devin Haney vs. Jo Jo Diaz: The Big Fight Preview - Everything you need to know

2 min read
Devin Haney vs. Joseph Diaz Matchroom Boxing

The lightweight division holds its breath as there is another title on the line, just a week after Teofimo Lopez lost his WBC franchise, WBA, IBF and WBO titles to Australian mandatory challenger George Kambosos Jr.

There appears to be no rematch on the cards between the pair as Lopez looks for a move up to 140lbs in his next fight.

That leaves a potential undisputed clash on the cards between the winner of Saturday's fight in Las Vegas between Devin Haney and his own mandatory challenger, Joseph 'Jo Jo' Diaz Jr.

The winner will doubtless be tempted to set up a 2022 clash to finally settle the question of the real WBC champion, and also to chase glory at 135lbs.

As well as the main event, there are some notable fighters on the undercard, such as Croatian heavyweight Filip Hrgovic and undisputed women's welterweight champion Jessica McCaskill, who will defend her four world titles against Victoria Bustos. 

Here are all the details for Haney vs Diaz.

Haney vs Diaz coverage

Haney vs Diaz weigh-in results

Lopez weighed in at 135 pounds, while Kambosos Jr. registered 134.4 pounds on the scale.

Haney vs Diaz odds

Devin Haney: -600
Jo Jo Diaz:  +400

(All odds via  BetMGM )

MGM (as of Wednesday, December 1) has Haney installed as a sizable favorite — coming in at -600, meaning you'd need to bet $600 just to win $100 if "The Dream" can retain the gold. Meanwhile, Diaz is a +400, meaning if you pluck down $100, you will win $400 if he can upset Haney and become a two-division champion.

When is Haney vs Diaz? date, start time

  • Date: Saturday, December 4th    
  • Main card: 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET / 1 a.m. GMT   
  • Main event ringwalks (approx): 8:15 p.m. PT 11:15 p.m. ET / 4:15 a.m. GMT

The main card is set to get underway at 5pm local time in Las Vegas, with the main event ringwalks at approximately 8:15 p.m. on the Vegas strip. As always with live fight cards, these timings are subject to change due to the length of the undercard bouts. 

What Channel/Stream is Haney vs Diaz?

  • U.S.:  DAZN
  • UK: DAZN   

The fight card will be broadcast across the world on DAZN (excluding Croatia, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Bosnia & Herzegovina and Macedonia). 

Where is the Haney vs Diaz fight?

The fight will take place at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. 

Devin Haney record and bio

  • Nationality: American   
  • Date of Birth: November 17, 1998
  • Height: 5' 8"    
  • Reach: 71"    
  • Total Fights: 26    
  • Record: 26 (15 KOs)

Joseph 'Jo Jo' Diaz Jr. Record and Bio

  • Nationality: American  
  • Born: November 23, 1992
  • Height: 5' 6"    
  • Reach: 64"   
  • Total Fights: 34
  • Record: 32-1-1 (15 KOs)    

Haney vs. Diaz Jr. fight card

  • Devin Haney vs. Jospeh 'Jo Jo' Diaz Jr.; WBC world lightweight title 
  • Filip Hrgovic vs. Scott Alexander; Heavyweight
  • Montana Love vs. Carlos Diaz; Super lightweight
  • Jessica McCaskill vs. Victoria Bustos; WBA, WBO, WBC and IBF women's welterweight titles
  • Austin Williams vs. Quatavious Cash; Middleweight
  • Alexis Espino vs. Roldolfo Gomez Jr.; Super middleweight
  • Marc Castro vs. Ronaldo Solis; Super featherweight
 

Latest News