DAZN News

Portugal vs. Switzerland: Time, TV channel, preview and how to watch FIFA World Cup round of 16 match

2 min read
MP_Bruno Fernandes_Portugal vs Xherdan Shaqiri_Switzerland (C)Getty Images

Switzerland impressed in the group stage, finishing tied on points with Group G winners Brazil and only missing out on the top spot by virtue of a single goal.

The Swiss now face a Portugal side in the last 16 that topped their group, although the Portuguese dropped their final group stage match to a determined South Korea side that needed a victory to advance.

Portugal were among the higher-scoring teams in the group stage, while Switzerland have employed a steadfast, defensively responsible style of play thus far.

QATAR 2022:  Complete fixture list  | All 8 World Cup stadiums

Which approach will prove successful? Here's everything you need to know about Tuesday's match.

Portugal vs. Switzerland: What time is kickoff at Qatar 2022?

  • Date: Tuesday, Dec. 6
  • Time: 2:00 p.m. EST / 7:00 p.m. GMT / 8:00 p.m. CET

The match is scheduled for 10:00 p.m. local time at Lusail Stadium in Lusail. That's 2:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, 7:00 p.m. GMT or 8:00 p.m. CET.

Portugal vs. Switzerland: How to watch on TV or streaming

  • USA: FOX, Telemundo, fuboTV
  • UK: BBC or ITV
  • Canada: CTV, TSN, RDS
  • Australia: SBS
  • Portugal: Sport TV 2 or RTP
  • Switzerland: SRF, RTS, RSI

Viewers in the United States can watch the match on FOX or FS1 (English) or Telemundo (Spanish). FOX can be streamed live on fuboTV  (start your free trial today).

In Portugal, the match is available on Sport TV 2 or RTP. Viewers in Spain can watch on SRF, RTS or RSI.

For listings in your region, consult FIFA.com .

Portugal vs. Switzerland: What stadium is hosting the match?

Lusail Iconic Stadium

The largest stadium in Qatar, the Lusail Iconic Stadium looks to live up to its name as the jewel of the 2022 World Cup.

With seating for 80,000 fans, the venue will host the most games of the tournament, with the highlight being the final on December 18. Before that date, another nine matches will be played there, including two group stage games each for powerhouses Brazil and Argentina. Following the group stage, the Lusial Stadium will host one match from each knockout round.

After the World Cup is over, the stadium is expected to be downsized considerably. 

World Cup 2022 Round of 16: Dates, kick-off times

All kick-off times are listed in Arabia Standard Time .

Saturday, December 3

  • Netherlands vs. USA, 18:00
  • Argentina vs. Australia, 22:00

Sunday, December 4

  • France vs. Poland, 18:00
  • England vs. Senegal, 22:00

Monday, December 5

  • Japan vs. Croatia, 18:00
  • Brazil vs. South Korea, 19:00

Tuesday, December 6

  • Morocco vs. Spain, 18:00
  • Portugal vs. Switzerland, 22:00

Latest News