DAZN News

Canelo vs. GGG trilogy to occur at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas

1 min read
Canelo GGG_16x9_01 DAZN

Canelo Alvarez and Gennadiy Golovkin were announced in May to lock horns for the third time on Sept. 17 for the undisputed super middleweight championship. However, a venue hadn't been announced at the time. That is no longer the case. 

On Tuesday, it was revealed Alvarez vs. Golovkin would take place in a familiar venue to the pair, T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas. Tickets go on sale to the general public on Monday, June 27 at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT/6 p.m. GMT at AXS.com. Canelo vs. GGG III will be live on DAZN PPV in the U.S., Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand as well as around the world on DAZN (excluding Mexico, Latin America, and Kazakhstan). 

Alvarez and Golovkin will return to the scene of their previous two epic battles. The first fight ​​in September 2017 ended in a split draw, with the consensus being that Golovkin had done more than enough to earn the victory. The rematch occurred one year later ​in September 2018, with Alvarez leaving victorious via majority decision. 

After stopping Caleb Plant in November to become the first-ever undisputed champion at 168 pounds, Alvarez ventured back up to light heavyweight to attempt to become a two-time champion against WBA (super) titlist Dmitry Bivol. However, Bivol had other plans in mind, soundly winning by unanimous decision to hand Alvarez his first loss in over eight years. 

Meanwhile, Golovkin fought in April, traveling to Japan, and beat Ryoto Murata by ninth-round TKO to add the WBA (super) middleweight title to his IBF belt. So now, GGG gets a chance to avenge two fights that he felt should have gone his way. 



 

Latest News