Error code: %{errorCode}


How do you get someone out in cricket?

How do you get someone out in cricket?Getty

The main objective for the fielding team in a cricket match is to get 10 batsman out within the allotted overs. 

Luckily for the fielding team there are a number of ways to get a batsman out, and these can be found below. 


This is the simplest form of dismissal. 

A batsman is bowled when a legal delivery hits the wicket and dislodges at least one of the bails. 


A batsman is caught when a fielder or wicket keeper catches the ball without hitting the ground after making contact with the bat. 

A catch is deemed successful if the fielder is in full control of the ball and not in contact with the boundary rope. If a fielder does make contact with the boundary rope while taking the catch, runs are awarded to the batting team. 

Leg before wicket (LBW)

LBW is a form of dismissal which stops the batsman from blocking a delivery with their pads or other parts of their body. 

If a legal delivery hits the batsman's body and the umpire believes the ball was on its way to hit the stumps, it will be given out, but any LBW dismissal must meet the following critieria:

  • It must be a legal delivery.
  • Made impact with the batsman in line with the stumps.
  • The delivery must not be going over the stumps.
  • The delivery must not have hit the bat or gloves before hitting the pads.

Run out

While the two batsmen are running in between the wickets to increase their team's score, the fielding side can dismiss either batsman if they do not complete their run to the crease. 

A run out occurs if the fielding team manages to hit the wickets and dislodges the bails if any part of the batsman's body or bat are not grounded behind the crease line. 


A batsman is stumped when they leave the crease to try and make a shot. 

This frequently occurs when a batsman chares down the cricket to try and play a big shot. If the batsman misses the ball and it reaches the wicket keeper behind the stumps, then the wicket keeper has the opportunity to hit to get the batter out by hitting the stumps if no part of their body or bat is grounded behind the crease line. 

Hit wicket 

If a batsman hits their stumps with the bat or their body while trying to play a shot, or begin a run, they will be given out. 

Hit the ball twice

This is a rare dismissal but it's a law that protects the bowlers. 

A batsman is not allowed to hit the ball for a second time after the ball hits either their bat or part of their body.

However, there are exceptions:

  • The second contact is not intentional and happens by accident.
  • The contact is in order to prevent the ball hitting the stumps. 

Obstructing the field

Another dismissal which is rarely seen in matches when batters are obstructing the field in some way. 

Below are two scenarios where a batsman can be deemed to be obstructing the field: 

  • A batsman using their hand or leg to stop the ball hitting the stumps for a run out. 
  • A batsman shouting or trying to put the fielder off from taking a catch. 


If a batsman is injured or suffering from an illness, with the umpire's permission, they can leave the field, and can come back to complete their innings. 

If permission isn't granted to the batsman, but they decide to leave the field regardless, they will be 'retired out'.