Error code: %{errorCode}


Record-holders Sevilla win seventh Europa League title

Record-holders Sevilla win seventh Europa League titleGetty

In case anyone needed a reminder as to who are the kings of the Europa League, Sevilla made sure to reassert their dominance over the tournament on Wednesday.

The Spanish club won their seventh UEL title after defeating AS Roma in Wednesday's final, and although the match itself wasn't a walk-over for Sevilla, the addition of a seventh title puts even more distance between them and the rest of the field.

Wednesday's final went the distance and then some, requiring penalties after an extra time that went well over the standard 30 minutes. Roma looked like they were going to break their opponents' stronghold on finals in which they appear, as the Giallorossi went ahead in the first half thanks to a 34th-minute Paulo Dybala goal. However, a Gianluca Mancini own-goal in the 55th minute brought Sevilla back on level terms and the teams battled through the remainder of the 90 and extra time without finding another goal.

With the UEL title on the line in a penalty shootout, Sevilla seemed to tap into their historical dominance and put together a perfect set of spot-kicks, only needing four to win 4-1 as Roma missed two attempts.

View post on Twitter

It was the third time Sevilla have won the UEL final via penalties, as well as their fifth Europa League title of the past decade. Additionally, Sevilla have yet to lose at this stage of the competition, winning all seven finals they've appeared in thus far. 

As if that wasn't enough, Sevilla's seven titles are four more than the next-best teams — four clubs (Inter Milan, Liverpool, Juventus and Atletico Madrid) are tied for second place on the all-time winners list with three titles apiece.