DAZN News

Japan vs. Croatia: Time, TV channel, preview and how to watch FIFA World Cup round of 16 match

2 min read
MP_Daizen Maeda_Japan vs Josip Juranovic_Croatia (C)Getty Images

Group E was perhaps the most unpredictable of all at Qatar 2022, with Japan topping a group that also included Spain, Germany and Costa Rica.

All four nations were in with a shot at advancement to the knockouts on the final matchday, but the Japanese rode a frantic few minutes after halftime to defeat Spain 2-1 and claim first place in the group. 

Their reward? A meeting with 2018 World Cup runners-up Croatia, who edged past Belgium to claim the second-place spot in Group F. The Croatians haven't found their top gear yet, playing to scoreless draws against Morocco and Belgium and heavily defeating an outmatched Canada, but their pedigree remains and they have a wealth of experience at this level to draw from.

For the Japanese, they'll likely rely on a relentless press and use their athleticism to unsettle their European opposition, which could make for an interesting clash of styles.

QATAR 2022:  Complete fixture list  | All 8 World Cup stadiums

Here's everything you need to know about Monday's match.

Japan vs. Croatia: What time is kickoff at Qatar 2022?

  • Date: Monday, Dec. 5
  • Time: 10:00 a.m. EST / 3:00 p.m. GMT / 4:00 p.m. CET / 12:00 a.m. JST (Tuesday)

The match is scheduled for 6:00 p.m. local time at the Al Janoub Stadium in Al-Wakrah. That's 10:00 a.m. Eastern Standard Time, 3:00 p.m. GMT, 4:00 p.m. CET or 12:00 a.m. JST.

Japan vs. Croatia: How to watch on TV or streaming

  • USA: FOX, Telemundo, fuboTV
  • UK: BBC or ITV
  • Canada: TSN, RDS
  • Australia: SBS
  • Japan: Fuji TV, Abema
  • Croatia: HRT

Viewers in the United States can watch the match on FOX (English) or Telemundo (Spanish). Both of those channels can be streamed on fuboTV (start your free trial today).

In Japan, the match is available on Fuji TV and Abema. Viewers in Croatia can watch on HRT.

For listings in your region, consult FIFA.com.

Japan vs. Croatia: What stadium is hosting the match?

Al Janoub Stadium

Home to Al-Wakrah SC of the Qatar Stars League, the Al Janoub Stadium features a retractable roof and 40,000 seats.

The stadium design is meant to invoke the history of the Al Wakrah area, and the seats invoke a wave pattern to emulate the sea. Having opened in 2019, the venue hosted the 2020 AFC Champions League final as well as six matches during the 2021 FIFA Arab Cup.

Seven matches will be held at the Al Janoub Stadium during the World Cup, after which it will be downsized to 20,000 seats.

World Cup 2022 Round of 16: Dates, kick-off times

All kick-off times are listed in Arabia Standard Time .

Saturday, December 3

  • Netherlands vs. USA, 18:00
  • Argentina vs. Australia, 22:00

Sunday, December 4

  • France vs. Poland, 18:00
  • England vs. Senegal, 22:00

Monday, December 5

  • Japan vs. Croatia, 18:00
  • G1 vs. South Korea, 19:00

Tuesday, December 6

  • Morocco vs. Spain, 18:00
  • Portugal vs. G2, 22:00

Latest News